What I do for work

6 Months at Laundry Service

Bello

Almost exactly 6 months ago, I started my job at Laundry Service as a Graphic Designer.

my view from the office in dumbo

I love my job, the people I get to connect with, and the work I make. But also they got me WORKING BRUH I’m stretched tf out rn, so much so that I couldn’t think of a topic other than work for this week’s newsletter. I figured I’ll write up a quick 6 month review.

Most of my work thus far has been designing for TurboTax’s social media accounts. I make instagram posts, story posts, TikTok and reels content. Social is where LS mostly operates!

Occasionally, I get an opportunity to illustrate the posts, which always gets me the most excited:

Agency work is kinda what I was expecting. My college professors told many spooky stories, but LS has a nicer culture. Things move really really fast, but that makes it fun. When we’re in the trenches, working on a pitch deck, we’re all in it together so the work doesn’t feel as demoralizing. And everyone at the office is ultra creative. There are folks coming from Nike, Complex, Esquire, you name it. They all come to work fitted up too. Sometimes I take like 15 minutes in the morning to just pick out my outfit so I can fit in and look cool like the cool guys. I think I do alright there.

Although my title is “graphic designer,” the team I work with always includes me in pitches, brainstorms, and critiques. I rarely feel siloed and I’ve contributed ideas that have made it to production. Like this banana post:

It’s really random and strange, but a wins a win. The client actually REALLY liked the idea, which I wasn’t expecting at all. Also it’s hilarious that haters used this banana post as an opportunity to vent about TurboTax (they use every post as an opportunity, but bananas makes it funnier).

Occasionally we get to work with some really great talent:

I made all the supers for these! I also get the opportunity to push the branding and try new graphic treatments, I’ve been using 3d a bit more:

All in all, it’s a demanding, but validating experience. I learn something new every single day and I’m always excited for work. Sometimes it can get a little too demanding but it’s cool. I get to draw and push around shapes for a living.

Oh also, LS was the agency that allegedly leaked Papa John saying the N-word, subsequently causing him to step down from his pizza pedestal, changing the flavor of his beloved pizza forever. Bonkers.

REX

The planet of the apes movies are surprisingly really amazing. I never really gave the franchise a chance because I thought the premise was a little silly but I was being foolish. I can’t wait to watch the new one. I’m team apes all the way.