time to share

my favorite artists right now

Hallo

I’m visiting home in Maryland for the week! It’s been a good time. I’m mostly catching up with some friends and spending time with the parents.

playing darts with homies

smashing with homies

In the midst of travel and work, I haven’t made much progress on creative endeavors. But that doesn’t mean I’ve had any less thoughts about artistry. Below I’ve compiled a list of artists that inspire me, in hopes that they might inspire you!

ARTISTS I LIKE RIGHT NOW

I might have forgotten a few because I’m writing this as I flip through my instagram and twitter but these are some I love:

Michael Deforge

Super talented. Makes hilarious comics featuring shapes that talk. Worked on Adventure Time. My favorite book of his is “Heaven No Hell.” Michael’s Instagram

Alex Kiesling

Makes absolutely insane renders and animations. Has such a distinct style and is a master of texture. Alex’s Instagram

Benn (Life Machine)

Super cool toys with a unique style. Miniature statues really, because they’re so fricken sick and majestic. Life Machine Instagram

Michelle Kwon

Comic artist with a very funny and unique storytelling voice. Lots of Korean-American influence with work that features relatable themes, like maturity, religion, death, etc. Michelle’s work

Jowani

I love his style, and he has amazing perspective work. Lots of super dynamic panels and funny looking characters. Huge inspiration for me. Jowani’s work

Isolina Minjeong

Expressive sculptor and muralist. Really animated gigantic clay characters, definitely can see some Korean inspiration. Isolina’s instagram

Kitt Bennett

Enormous murals. How are they that big? How much paint is that? Is this a drone shot? Absolutely bonkers. Kitt Bennett’s Instagram

I have more and more and more artists in my list that continue to inspire me, especially video creators, musicians, and tattoo artists. I’m just getting sleepy writing this so this is all you’ll get for this week haha. I hope you visit these accounts and check out their work!

CELEBRITY SIGHTING

Last Tuesday, I had dinner with my friend Esther at this Japanese place called Nakamura. Esther is a super talented artist and we were the only two people in the restaurant, chatting it up about our creative passions and daydreams.

About halfway through our meal, I see that a party of three gets seated right next to us. I look up and meet eyes with none other than SAM SMITH.

We tried to pretend that they weren’t there (with every fiber of our being) and attempted to get back into our conversation. As we were talking about art, I saw Sam Smith look over at our table and actually EAVESDROP ON US. They even started their own conversation with their party about music and how passionate they are about it.

We asked for a photo and left the restaurant knowing that we had maybe inspired Sam Smith. What a crazy moment.

Sam Smith was super nice and soft spoken when we asked for a photo

Aaron Bushnell

Rest in peace to Aaron Bushnell, US soldier that set himself ablaze in protest of the genocide in Palestine. A tragic but important demonstration.

I watched a video of Bushnell’s self-immolation yesterday and was very moved by his conviction. His bravery doesn’t go unnoticed and will be remembered forever.

Although it’s a tragic loss of life, demonstrations like this are so important. It shows the world how many Americans feel about what’s happening overseas, despite the actions of our own government.

Free Palestine.

May all your wishes and dreams come true <3