Storytelling and Sketching

🤼‍♂️🧘🔱🤾

HEYO

It’s been an interesting month. I’m learning to find time to draw and work on personal projects while adjusting to my demanding new job.

It’s tougher than I thought, but I look to you, my dedicated subscribers, to keep me accountable and to follow me on my journey of expression.

I have been attempting to write a story with a plot, not just jokes. During my attempts, I’ve been learning lots of helpful story-writing tips. Here is what I’ve learned about good storytelling so far:

  • You need a protagonist, a main character.

  • Your protagonist must want something, need something, or be denied something. Establishing that will determine your first act.

  • As a writer you have to punish your protagonist with problems that suck really hard. Challenge after challenge after challenge. You have to destroy your character, despite loving them. Their struggles will determine the second act.

  • The third act is your climactic resolution. Does your character succeed or fail in their original objective?

  • The themes will appear to you as you write the plot.

  • All first person narration is unreliable

  • Write about what you don’t know. Seek, question, and explore.

  • If you are not writing, nothing will be written. You gotta stop writing in yo head and actually start writing on paper.

These elementary storytelling techniques were learned from the two videos below:

I’ve been watching episodes of cartoons and shows with this newfound storytelling mindset. I try to notice the characters motives, their struggles, and the resolutions. It’s crazy how few stories deviate from the 3 act structure.

This may be basic knowledge to writing enthusiasts, but it’s all new to me! I’ll be writing more about my discoveries in Pizza Pages from now on - let’s all learn together 🙂 

Doods

Drawing practice, done between 9-10pm yesterday.

Rex

I watched The Holdovers this week and loved the soundtrack. It led me to find this beautiful song. It’s a disagreement between a father and a son. The father is telling his son to take it slow but the son wants to live fast. We all know that story. This song makes me think of my dad and how I miss being around that funny guy.

May all your dreams and wishes come true <3