Short and simple

Bday post

It’s my birthday this week

and for my birthday week, all I want to do is the bare minimum. I took two days off work this week, I’m not planning shit, and I’m gonna draw and read and play ping pong and watch movies and eat dessert.

And because it’s my birthday week, this email is short and simple.

This is what I’ve drawn this week that I can share:

The panels you see are from Ping Pong by Taiyo Matsumoto. I’ve been struggling to advance my style so I thought that I could learn from copying artists I admire. I’m going to keep doing this as a warm up / practice before I draw. It also gives me a good reference for clothing and poses.

The bicycle thingy is just a guy on a weird bicycle thingy I drew. I guess it’s more of a motorbike since there aren’t any pedals?

Billie likes to smack things. He’s always boxing in my mind. So I drew him how I see him. He’s a light straw flyweight at 10.5 pounds. Opponent is the fridge door.

For my birthday this year, Yvonne bought me the first box set of One Piece in English:

When she revealed this to me, I straight up cried. It took me back to 2010, when I would go to the old Miller Branch Library and read at least two volumes in the adult graphic novel section. I always left with at least 4 of these bad boys checked out (I would’ve borrowed more but my mom would only let me borrow a few at a time). Holding these volumes made me feel like the same 10 year old again. Feelings of wonder and joy poured in as I read through random spreads. I was reminded of a simple time.

I’m being really dramatic about this I know but it really is that special. Yvonne is the best and I love her so much.

Rex

My birthday rex. Everything I can think of off the dome that I think is the best stuff ever made:

One Piece

Adventure Time:

Interstellar

Jack Black

Jack Black as Nacho Libre

there’s other stuff but i’m tired and am going to go to bed

May all your dreams and wishes come true <3