Pop Day

Personal Work Update

I’ve been working on a project for my dad’s 60th. It’s a little zine of sorts full of funny stories and advice that he’s told us growing up. For this week, I’ll share the content from one of my favorite spreads:

Growing up, my dad and his older brother had an interesting relationship. One time, his brother was pulling a weird “prank” and put a knife behind my dads ear. He told him “don’t turn around!” and my dad fell for it. Hahaha funny prank from the old days… classic korean joke - the ol’ stab yo brother behind his ear

Another time, when they were out frog hunting, my uncle told my dad “don’t move” and shot a frog that was dangerously close to my dads foot. That coulda really messed him up. Good thing my uncle got good aim I guess?

My dad spent a night in jail once because of my uncle. He set fire to a haystack that eventually turned into a serious wildfire. They got in lots of trouble.

Despite being a dangerous and questionable older brother, my uncle was protective of my dad. His reputation (and crazy build), kept bullies away from my dad. So it wasn’t all bad.

Duona Day

Yvonne and I have really great roommates, Duo and Leona. We’ve lived with them for two years and it’s been really awesome - like a sitcom. They always throw us the best parties and surprises so we wanted to get them back.

We invited them to a roomie picnic.

Little did they know that they would be met with many of our NYC friends, wearing this shirt with a graphic I illustrated of them.



We got em good and spent the rest of the day playing volleyball in the hot sun and eating pizza and fried chicken.

REX

I binged the new series on amazon prime called “Fallout.” I liked it. Pretty good!

May all your dreams and wishes come true <3