Pizza Pages #7

🤖 Edibles and Robots 🍬

COMICS

The comics are performing well still! The existential, lonely comic I posted last week hit 100+ likes. I’m glad people could relate.

This week, I’m hitting ya’ll with two funnier comics. Here’s the first:

If you’re a DIE HARD JOHN COMIC FAN, you’ll notice that the words in this are actually typed and not handwritten. I’m trying out a new style. I like it so far and it’s easier to manage spacing out the text bubbles and takes less time.

This comic is inspired by the MANY interactions I’ve had with peers. The reassurance when bringing edibles onto a plane is always “even if they catch you, how are they gonna know they’re weed edibles? They’d have to eat it themselves.” This is that played out. Can TSA agents arrest people? I hope not.

I normally don’t show two comics back to back on here (so I can save some to post later when my brain is dry of ideas), but I’m simply too proud of this one not to share:

I just think the robots look cool. Also DJ Khaled is maybe the funniest human alive.

Maybe you’ll notice that the robots resemble the original characters, the ones that represent me and Duo.

STICKERS

I’ve been selling sticker packs to friends and supporters and everyone loves them! I’m so fortunate to be able to share my work in physical form to those that truly like my style. Here is Miky with his pooping cat and peeing apple on his laptop:

I don’t think he knows he’ll be featured on todays newsletter haha. Thanks Miky.

RECS OF THE WEEK

I recently finished two great books.

ATOMIC HABITS by James Clear

This book has already helped me get some of my shit together. It had been 4 years since I worked out, properly managed my savings, and thought deeply about changing my habits. After reading this book, I started to think differently about approaching new habits and destroying bad ones. Today is day 63 of working out every day!

This book helped to give me some answers. I always knew what I needed to work on, but I didn’t feel like I had the tools or direction to address some of my core issues. With every new chapter, I was learning a new way of thinking or a new strategy to help improve my life, day by day, incrementally.

1. Decide the type of person you want to be.

2. Prove it to yourself with small wins.

James Clear

I highly recommend Atomic Habits! It’s easy to read and easy to understand. I also felt very smart while reading it. Thanks Peter for the rec.

SUM by David Eagleman

I think a lot about life after death. It’s one of the true, permanent unknowns of the world and the weight of its mystery inspires so many creative stories. Religion, mythology, scientific theory - I’ve always been enamored by these attempts to explain what comes after, and why we’re here to begin with.

Sum, by David Eagleman is a collection of 40 creative explanations for that unknown. Most of these stories fall under 5 pages in length and all of them are brilliant. In one chapter, we are at the mercy of the gods we’ve always feared. In another, we are but robots made by tiny cartographers, made to explore the universe and gather data. All of these theories are full of imagination and many of them can provide interesting context on how to live our lives today.

If you’re looking for a good train read, or a book to keep on your nightstand, I highly recommend Sum. It’s thin and light with short chapters, so it’s easy to pick up and put down for intermittent reading. Thanks Victoria for the rec.

That’s all from me today friends. Thanks for reading and thanks for buying stickers 🙂. May all of your hopes and dreams come true.