Pizza Pages #8

šŸ› Color and Horror šŸ‘»

COMICS

Coloring takes forever, but itā€™s always worth it. I think it helps with the readability of a comic. It makes it easier for you to know right away what represents what.

In this weeks comic, I tried to play with color a bit more than usual:

This comic is so dumb hahahaha. Iā€™m going to find a corny motivational TikTok and attach it to the white screen when I post this on Instagram later. All I gotta do is buckle down and scroll through some contentā€¦ but Iā€™m not feeling motivated enough to do it nowā€¦ if only I could run into organic motivational content that could motivate me to scroll through to find the perfect motivational video to use in my comicā€¦

Lately Iā€™ve been inspired by this account: https://www.instagram.com/kangskimbab/

I love how YoungKang, the creator, took the annoying, almost mandatory vertical video format and used it to create such a funny and relatable animation series.

Itā€™s always been a dream a mine to create my own cartoon with themes and styles similar to Regular Show and Adventure Time but I never really knew how to start or where to begin. With the emergence of these hilarious online seriesā€™ like Kangs Kimbap, Iā€™ve been given some direction and Iā€™m inspired to start an online web cartoon of my own! Itā€™s still in dream phase right now and I havenā€™t mapped anything out yet, but Iā€™m manifesting it in this newsletter.

Iā€™m going to reach out to YoungKang and see if I can get some words of wisdom. Iā€™ll keep yaā€™ll posted :)

RECS OF THE WEEK

This week my friends Isaac and Ganesh took me out to see the movie ā€œTalk to Me.ā€

ā€œTalk to Meā€ is a new A24 produced horror movie created by the RackaRacka brothers, who originally created those weird Ronald McDonald skits from back in the day.

The movie is based in Australia and follows a young girl who lost her mother a year prior and is coping with her loss by attaching herself to her friendā€™s family for emotional support. The girl and her friend go to this party where everyone seems to be amused by this embalmed hand. They use this tacky looking hand to access a spiritual realm where they can allow the dead to possess their bodies, but only for 90 secondsā€¦

Although this sounds like the typical possession horror story, the acting and production make the movie so much more. This was the first time in a while that I was genuinely spooked from a horror film. If I couldā€™ve, I wouldā€™ve paused the movie for a bit to take a break because it had me so damn nervous man.

The themes and allegory in the movie are easy to grasp and itā€™s a lot of fun to watch with friends. Highly recommend this movie if youā€™re into new age horror!

Thatā€™s all for this week! Please like and share and comment on my comic when it comes out and go watch a horror movie with your friends.

May all your dreams and wishes come true <3