Pizza Pages #4

🥳 PARTY PARTY PARTY 🍾

Pizza Party Recap

Thank you to everyone who came through to Pizza Party! It was so much fun. I say that for all of them, but this particular show was really rewarding.

This was our third show EVER, and the first two performed quite well (ticket sales high, laughter loud). We expected to see ticket sales follow the same tempo as the first two shows, but that was not the case.

It’s July. The temperature is burning skin off people’s faces and lots of people are out of the city on vacations, sitting on the beach. Sage and I were struggling to sell tickets and anxiety was at an all time high. We even had two of our booked comedians drop the show, one dropped 20 minutes before her set. Despite all that, somehow we pulled it off. There were more than 50 people at the show, we found hilarious comics to replace the flakey ones, and everyone was having a great time.

Pizza Party is going strong. Our next show will be on September 30th from 7pm to 9pm at Pinebox. I hope to see you there.

Bizza Barty

On a personal note, I would like to brag about Bizza Barty.

My birthday was last Tuesday, and my partner’s birthday was yesterday. My bestest friends and roommates, Duo and Leona, secretly planned an amazing combined birthday party for us. The theme? Pizza Party Spoof: “Bizza Barty.”

They invited friends to our outdoor courtyard, rented chairs, bought a projector, and made drinks. Yvonne and I sat in the crowd wearing tiaras, while our friends entertained us with stories, music, dancing, presentations, stand-up, and comic readings about us and our memories together. It was months in the making.

I was moved to tears. I felt loved and belonged and indescribably grateful to be accepted by such wonderful company. I will never forget the feeling.

Comic Update

If you were at Pizza Party, you may have recognized some of the comics I read during my set! There were some that you definitely DID NOT recognize and that’s because they are unreleased mwahaha.

In the coming weeks, I will be posting them to my instagram for you to enjoy eternally. This week, you’ll see this one:

I’ve been doing a lot of traveling these past few months and this was one of many inspired stories. I can understand taking your shoes off on the airplane but do you really need to let the dogs out?

Lately, I’ve been drawing myself as this bowl-cut having wide faced character. Idk why I’m so drawn to his appearance. He looks so simpleminded. Maybe that’s why.

Stickers

They are for sale. They are available online. You been knew about this. Come and give me your sweet support in the form of dollars in exchange for my physically manifested illustrations ;)

Recs of the Week

The Sound of Your Heart

In high school I was an avid reader of a Korean webtoon called The Sound of Your Heart.

As I’ve been writing more comics, I thought to revisit the webtoon and I’ve been giggling to it under my bedcovers before I go to sleep every night.

Written by Cho Seok, The Sound of Your Heart is an autobiographical caricature of a journal entry in the form of comic strips. Here’s an example of a bit from one of my favorite early chapters:

I HIGHLY recommend this! It’s also been adapted to a live action on Netflix! You can read The Sound of Your Heart here:

Barbie

I watched the Barbie movie since my last newsletter and I wanted to share my thoughts.

*SPOILER ALERT - If you haven’t watched it yet, do not read further*

It was good. I thought it was hilarious and deep. The acting was phenomenal and the jokes were so unique. It was so funny to see all the dumb male attributes and stereotypes played out.

Things I loved:

  • Margo Robbie’s acting was so impressive. How does one convincingly drink invisible beverages as a plastic doll?

  • Ryan Gosling was SUBLIME

  • The matriarchal / patriarchal contrast was especially interesting. Although both clearly had the oppressed, they were still very different. In the Barbie world, although somewhat cold, the Barbies and Kens were encouraging to each other and overall nice. In the patriarchal real world, the oppressed don’t get the same treatment. Barbie felt a “hint of violence” with every glance and men comment on her appearance regardless of what she wears.

  • Horses are “men extenders”

  • The Barbies manipulating men by giving them what they want, which is the opportunity to mansplain The Godfather and how to use photoshop

  • It was so random, fourth wall breaks were funny, the dance battle was perfect

Gripes:

  • Sometimes things were a bit too on the nose, which I understand is part of the Barbie, plastic doll, fake world branding. But sometimes the social commentaries were over explained and I think it took away some potential impact.

  • Not enough Allen

  • Too much Will Ferrell - definitely was a highlight of the movie but felt unnecessary to bring them to Barbie world

Thanks for reading! Thanks for coming to Pizza Party! Thanks to Duo and Leona for Bizza Barty! Thanks for keeping up with my comics! Thanks for buying my stickers! Thanks for hearing my recs!