Look! See! What I've Done!!!

hahahahahahahahah

Progress

Everyday is a new day to make incremental progress on my seemingly infinite projects. Here are the projects I’m splitting my time on:

  • Long-form Youtube content series

    • With additional products for sale!

    • monthly releases

  • First long-form comic book

  • Adjunct Social Media content

My first long-form video in my content series is on the way! I had to outsource some merchandise manufacturing work for this project that took some time, but I hope to have something to show by the end of next month.

My first long-form comic book is taking 4ever. I anticipate this to take a while, possibly years. BUT I do have progress to show!

Here is my first rough page:

I’m prepping these panels for print ultimately, but I also plan on releasing pages online (possibly Webtoon).

I’ve also made some progress on random adjunct social media content. I intend on making more reels this year, especially after the success of my last video. I think it’s important to stay active and relevant online, even when working on slow projects. This content idea is a sketchbook documentation!

What I have so far:

Whenever I finish this 16 page sketchbook, I’ll finish the video! It should look cool. ha

Thoughts on Posting


For the past few years, I thought of instagram posting as “deadlines.” If I post a drawing once a day or once a week, then I’ll be staying consistent, staying accountable, and increasing engagement! This was great for cultivating a “creator” mindset but eventually I started to make quality sacrifices to reach these “deadlines.” I also reduced the scope of my projects so that they would be ready to share quickly. Small projects. Social media posting, which started as a means of motivation, inadvertently became the driving force behind all of my art.

I’m flipping the script a bit this year. Rather than focusing on posting, I’m focusing on drawing every day and making incremental progress on more long-form projects. In this way, social media becomes an effective form of documentation instead of an incentive.

And to keep me accountable, I have you guys! Thanks for reading when you do. I’ve mostly been treating this newsletter as a personal journal to track my thoughts and progress, so it always makes me so grateful to hear that my peers are actually reading these posts!

Rex

KIEFER

I saw Kiefer live a couple weeks ago in a jazz club… it was amazing. He’s in a trio called the Kiefer Trio. I told him I had a good time and that it was an amazing show. He has kind eyes and said “thank you” in a way that made me feel heard and seen as an individual.

I think “kind’ is a good way to describe his beats.

Thanks fo readin dudes. May all your dreams and wishes come true <3