Pizza Pages

hello! pizza party? ;)

Pizza Party

You are the first to know… Pizza Party 3 is officially happening on Friday July 28th, 8:30 at Pinebox Rock Shop! The lineup is my favorite yet, with Usama Siddiquee and Courtney Bee headlining comedy and Michelle Kwon and Olea Kim reading comics. I’ve been trying to get Michelle on our show ever since we started and FINALLY she is on our lineup. I can’t wait for ya’ll to see it.

Since you’re now subscribed to PP (Pizza Pages), I want to gift you something special in regards to PP (Pizza Party):

$5 off your ticket if you use code:
johnissoawesomeandcoolhaha

YOU ONLY HAVE TWO WEEKS TO USE THIS CODE. If you wait too long and buy tickets after the 19th, you’ll have to pay full price like all the normies

I can’t wait to see your beautiful smiling faces at Pinebox Rock Shop on the 23rd :)

Comics

In this segment I’m going to write about some of the work you may have seen from me. Last week I posted this comic:

I was inspired by this youtube video about crows where I learned that they have an amazing ability to recognize specific human faces. When I first heard that, I thought “that’s so cool because humans can do that.” Then I realized “humans do that pretty poorly.” We misremember faces so often and it gave me the idea that maybe crows are BETTER than us at remembering our own faces. So if you’re ever trying to hide your identity, steer clear from a crow.

This week I’m going to upload this comic:

It’s not 100% complete yet, I still have to do some shading - but the concept is done. The inspiration behind this is me. I use a ton of toilet paper. I know. It’s not great and I’ve suffered plenty of clogged toilets as consequence. I’m going to feign responsibility by blaming my single ply upbringing for this bad habit. I’ll go in depth with this comic in my next Pizza Pages issue so make sure to check into that if you’re curious.

Recs of the Week

The Peanut Butter Falcon

This week I got a chance to watch the movie “The Peanut Butter Falcon,” starring Shia Labeouf and Zack Gottsagen.

It was a heavy hearted, feel good watch that’s been on my list for some time. The story follows Zak (Gottsagen), an adult with Downs Syndrome that desperately wants to escape the elderly home he’s imprisoned in. Along the story Zak meets Tyler (Labeouf) who is similarly escaping a tight situation. They form an endearing bond and go on adventures Mark Twain style.

It was a good watch. I love the swampy, lawless vibe of the setting. There is a true sense of freedom in the film that a lot of movies fail to portray. I’ll rate this movie a 7/10, definitely recommend for a family or date night.

Sunburn

I almost jumped out of my seat in excitement when I saw that Dominic Fike released his newest album “Sunburn”

I’ve been a huge Dominic Fike listener since he came out with “Don’t Forget About Me” back in 2018. He was also my top artist on Spotify in 2021, so you KNOW I listened to this album from top to bottom a buncha times.

I’m still giving it some time to marinate before I give it a true rating, but I will say that although I like the album so far, I’m not entirely impressed by it. There are a few songs that I absolutely love, but a lot of the songs were less remarkable.

The songs I like are:

Give it a listen. I’d love to hear what you think - dm me :)

Thanks for reading <3