Interpreting my own artwork

What does it mean?

YOUTUBE

My new video is uploaded! You can watch it here:

I am late. Usually I upload on Friday’s but I uploaded last night. I normally would be devastated for missing a self-proposed deadline, but at the moment I decided not to care. If I care about it too much, then I’ll get mad stressed and it’ll make me wanna stop doing it. Flexibility is good I think.

I’m experimenting with different kinds of videos. This one is more arts related. I’m still trying to figure out what I want my audience to look like, and one of the options are those that are interested in illustration and comics. It’s still fun to watch if you don’t give a toot about art though.

This video concludes my second month making Youtube videos. I think I’m learning a bit - I’m trying to explore creating different kinds of content. A few months ago, I asked my dear friend Sage “what kind of videos should I make? what would you be interested in seeing?” And Sage replied:

“just spray and pray.”

Sage Sy

So that’s what I’m doing. I’m gonna be going to be doing some international travel in the next month so maybe you’ll see some different content. Or maybe I’ll be basking in the sun, without any memory of my self-conceived creative responsibilities.

Frog Farm

Tomorrow I will be reading comics at Frog Farm!

You can get tickets here:

This is lowkey a really important milestone for me. Last year, I came to a comic reading show in Brooklyn called Big Milk and thought to myself “ugh one day I would love to read comics here” and it became a little dream of mine. Unfortunately Big Milk did not survive the year, but one of the founders created this show Frog Farm. AND NOW I’M BOOKED ON IT! I KINDA ACHIEVED A LITTLE DREAM OF MINE! :)

I went to the last Frog Farm show and I was fricken laffing my brains out. Come through tomorrow to fricken laff ur brains out.

RECS OF THE WEEK

The last time I recommended this show on my newsletter, I hadn’t finished it. But now I’m finished and will recommend it again. Sorry to my friends who have heard me recommend this show in real life a million times. I’ll probably keep pushing it until I die.

ADVENTURE TIME

It’s the best cartoon I’ve ever watched and I think about it all the time. Probably daily. It’s really hard to keep blabbering on about a kids show, I feel that people don’t take me serious. But I stand by it. (It also evolves with it’s audience, so it gets more mature as the seasons progress).

This show has such amazing writing. It somehow perfectly balances childlike humor and charm with deep and dark emotional themes. It uses innocent child-like imagery and makes allegories to harsh, vulnerable topics including puberty, abuse, neglect, manipulation, empathy, the divine, and so much more. It is a beautiful reflection of life and everything it means to exist.

On a more practical viewership note, it’s hilarious and easy to watch. Each episode is 11 minutes, feels longer (which is what you want), and is performed really well. All the voice actors are stellar. On top of that, THE LORE. The writers are AMAZING world builders. There’s a reason why this franchise ran for 10+ years.

I think this show is like durian a bit. If it’s not for you, then it’s not for you and no disrespect. It’s a little weird and definitely out there. But if you like it, you will probably love it for all eternity and hold it near to your heart and associate it with blissful memories of your childhood. You’ll also relentlessly ask your friends to try it so you can enjoy it together. Just like durian. I love durian. I love Adventure Time.

Give it a try. Here are a few of the best episodes ranked by random redditors.

All the episodes are good so I’m not even gonna quality check this link (obviously I’d recommend binging from the start, but the first two seasons require a bit more attention and commitment to buy-in). You can stream all seasons on Hulu and HBO.

That is all for this week my friends. May all your dreams and wishes come true.