i got some new fans

pizza party date confirmed

Hemlo

The next Pizza Party will be on APRIL 27TH!!!!

I am very excited for it as always and will start looking for talent! If you know any magicians, let me know.

What I’ve been working on

I spontaneously made an instagram reel last week and it has been doing numbers:

It’s a lil tutorial on how to print on the free labels that you can get from USPS. These labels are often used for graffiti and one of my friends Alex gifted me a TON of them a couple years past. I was jus messin’ around with them and thought it could be fun to show so I whipped up this video with no expectations for engagement.

This reel alone has helped me grow my account by 120+ followers. My reels in the past, that have way more views and engagement, pale in comparison in increasing follower count. What magical power did this one reel possess to get so many fresh eyes peeping on my page?

I believe the magic was in my disclaimer at the end of the video:

I left the typo on purpose ;)

Whenever I promote an event or try to sell a product, the CTA I use is often basic and predictable. “Link in bio for more!” “Follow me to see more.” This time I did the opposite, specifically because I didn’t really care about this particular reel and wanted to be funny.

Maybe when you ask people to like, comment, follow, they don’t wanna. It’s boring and basic and blatant. But when you insert more personality (i.e. quirky copy/ facial photography), they are intrigued and end up liking, commenting, and following anyways.

These are only speculations. Who really knows what pleases the algorithm gods. Either way I’m happy I was able to communicate to so many people.

What I worked on this week

I was commissioned to do some illustration work for the cover of a single by Buko. These are the drafts I came up with:

The song for the cover alludes to dancing, so I tried for a romantic essence. I am curious about which direction Buko will choose!

While drafting these ideas, I also drew a cool guy that I came up with on my own, using my own creativity and imagination.

REX

Been listening to this nonstop. Wear good headphones to hear the notes in the back of the song. Great song for drawing, walking, and entertaining guests. I recommend listening to Ciao Ciao Marigold’s other songs as well.

That’s all for this week. May all your dreams and wishes come true <3