I got a cat

Billie Joe Armstrong

Meet Billie Joe Armstrong Lee

We named him literally 20 minutes ago. And it’s official now.

He’s so sweet and adorable. He is really affectionate and has an interesting story. He has some scars on the back of his neck from bullies in the shelters he was in before and his tail is a little jagged (I think from the bullying). Thankfully he won’t have to deal mean bullies anymore.

Adopting has been unexpectedly emotional and nerve wracking but is so worth it! I just got an insurance policy figured out for the guy and have a vet appointment with him tomorrow.

We struggled with the name for a bit. Our options were:

Ink
Bully
T-Rex
Bones
Kikkoman
Luffy
Nico
Franky
Manga
Choco Boy
Tank

But Yvonne suggested Billie and we felt it made sense. Also he’s a little smaller and has short stubby limbs, so his build looks kinda like Billie Joe Armstrong from my favorite childhood band, Green Day. I also wanted to give him a punk rock name so I’m happy with it.

Last Week’s Upload

I was home in Maryland for a few days, spending time with the fam. I’m keeping up with my promise to post something online every day, and tried for a low lift instagram reel. It hasn’t performed as well as I would hope but Yvonne and my lil sista Julia were geeking while I was making this one, so I have very warm, homey feelings attached to it.

I’m trying to keep up a silly, carefree, stupid online persona. I hope that translates.

Comic Idea

I have a comic idea that I’m going to quickly try to draw, but want to share here in case I get lazy or forget about the idea:

Title: Susceptible Idiots All Over America Right Now:

Panel 1: (a person on their phone, looking at that photo of donald trump throwing his fist in the air)

Panel 2: “dang… he looks pretty cool here…”

Panel 3: (person feels weird tingly sensations) “What is this feeling? Am I… becoming…

Panel 4: “A REPUBLICAN?”

Rex

I have been told by my good friend Allison to listen to Brat, but I haven’t gotten the chance to yet - I will report back next week with thoughts 🫡

Best Friends Animal Society

My recommendation this week is to go check out Best Friends if you are interested in adopting a cat or a dog. The service was amazing. The employees and volunteers gave me space and time to be with the cats and answered all my questions with patience and understanding. The adoption process was easy, but thorough. I couldn’t have been happier with my experience.

Thanks to David for referring me!