Drawing my memories

Update on ongoing work!

REX

Woahhhhh starting with the recommendation up top? Is it opposite day?

I’m switching it up even more by offering two pieces of media that I would not recommend and think are wet socks.

Madam Web. bad movie. no cool fights.

Leave the World Behind produced by the Obamas. Extremely underwhelming and propagandistic.

Save your time on these ones. I watched them so you don’t have to.

Personal Work

For the past week, I’ve been keeping busy with a deeply personal project for my father my papa. He’s turning 60 years old this year so I’m collaborating with my sisters to collect stories, memories, and advice that my dad’s told us over the years (s/o Jul for the idea). We’re smushing our writings, drawings, and photos together in a nicely made book/zine!

I’m contributing to this project by drawing comics of some of my favorite memories. Here is one (still rough):

We were returning from a family trip to Acadia and on our way back we stopped by a lobster place. During the entire trip, Stacy and I had been making fun of Julia for being a ketchup gobbler. She would DEMOLISH a dollop of ketchup with such fervor that we bullied her for it. She had her last straw at this particular lobster place. I don’t know why the memory is so vivid.

When she had told us she had enough, Stacy and I felt really guilty and there was awkward dead air for half a second before my dad went “JUL! YOU NEED SOME KETCHUP IN THAT COKE???” It was just another one of my dad’s funny tone-deaf moments that stuck with me. He got all of us to burst laughing, even sour ass Julia.

Working on this project so far been a super nostalgic and emotional exercise. I’ve been drawing my family, particularly my dad, a lot. I’ve already clocked hours and hours drawing his face and reliving shared moments through my pen. It’s been a profound experience. I didn’t expect this process to feel as personal and significant as its turning out to be.

That’s all for this week. Thanks for reading 🙂 

My all your dreams and wishes come true <3