dragon ballz

watchu kno about son goku bro

RIP Akira Toriyama

I remember my days as a youth buried in a Dr. Slump book at the Miller Branch Public Library. I would laugh and laugh and think to myself “how does someone think of this??” “Is it really this okay to be a pervert?” “Who made this???”

I would finish reading all the Dr. Slump books available at the library, only to borrow loads of Dragon Ball books to secretly read in bed at night.

Because I had been reading these mangas at such an early and formative age (Since 8 y/o), they had an enormous influence on my morality and outlook. Akira Toriyama’s work crafted who I am today. My vulgar humor, my mischief, and my optimism come from characters like Goku, Bulma, Arale, and Luffy (there is no doubt that Toriyama’s work heavily influenced Oda’s One Piece).

I was sad to hear about his passing. It impacted me more than I thought it would. This guy really changed my life as a kid. For tons of kids.

As a tribute, I drew Son Goku flying on Nimbus. I felt by drawing Goku, I’d be participating in a ritual that Toriyama performed incessantly. I hoped it could bring me closer to the legend himself.

It’s beautiful how people we’ve never met impact us so.

Rest in Peace Akira Toriyama.

I did it

Completely arbitrary, meaningless, and vain, my closest benchmark for internet success - accumulating 2000+ instagram followers - has finally been achieved.

How does it feel? Actually good. Not sure why but by hitting 2k, I feel that this account has reached a higher level of legitimacy. So dumb. It doesn’t mean shit. But because I grew up in the horrible toxic environment of the internet in the 2010’s, part of my own personal value is tied to social media performance. I’ve worked hard to break this poisonous type of thinking but this instagram machine is so good at feeding me dopamine…

5k next.

A thought on advertising

Went to the Transit Museum by Hoyt this past weekend. Traveled back in time while walking through old train cars. Read the ads on them, noticed how ads changed over time.

Noticed this ad:

It’s a comic! How fun, to find a comic in the wild on your commute to work. How whimsical and creative and refreshing and not bland boring corporate algorithmic garbage.

Rex

The Favourite directed by Yorgos Lanthimos

Yeah yeah Poor Things is one of the best movies of the year we get it. Here’s another amazing Lanthimos movie. Just watched for the first time the other day. Was blown away by the acting and writing. Highly recommend.

That’s all for today. Thanks.

May all your dreams and wishes come true <3