Content with Content

hahaha

STACY DAY!

It was my lil sista’s bday last week! I made her this card with birthday blessings as a lil gift (not including the birthday blessings because then the magic would disappear):

If you know Stacy and are also subscribed to my newsletter, tell her Happy Belated Bday broh

Content

After a long haitus, I’m back to making content again and going to attempt (again… sigh… like always…) to do it with some more intentionality. I consulted this idea with my Gen Z lil sisters and they suggested that I go with a content series approach. Like “Day 32 of eating spaghetti with my feet” type shit. I’m brainstorming some low lift ideas that can combine my skills in illustration with my natural tendencies to yap. Perhaps a comic style interview? Something like that. idk. My sisters told me that sometimes my existing content can read as “millennial” and idk if that’s cool or has ever been cool ever. Sorry to my millennial readers - these Gen Z kids know the internet better I guess.

But before I lock in on a content series idea, I stretched my content-making muscles with a video project I’ve had in my back pocket for a while. It’s called “Me Shirt.” Here are some screen grabs:

I started working on this project IN FUCKING FEBRUARY. And it’s not like I forgot about it either. Life just got in the way! I hate when that happens! DANG! I want to start and finish all my projects with no interruptions! All I want to do is work on my little damn projects and nothing else! DANG!

I’ve just finished the first draft (it’s 1:08AM Tuesday morning) and I’m hoping to get this up and posted by the end of the week after some quick edits and approvals 🙂 

ReX

I just finished binging all of Smiling Friends this week

Smiling Friends is a new Adult Swim cartoon that you can watch on MAX. Each episode runs about 11 mins long and there are only 2 seasons at the moment. The story follows five dudes that work at a non-profit where their sole job is to make people smile.

I really like watching this show because it’s got that short, fun, early 2010’s Cartoon Network type vibe to it. Not in the story telling or art style or humor, but in the way that it’s bite sized, random, and positive. I also love that it’s new. Makes me feel like a kid again, watching a cartoon for the first time with the rest of the world.

It’s a really weird show. Like one of the weirdest shitz I ever seen. But I love it so far. It’s so random and kinda ugly, but just enough that it’s impressive and kinda beautiful. The animation quality will sometimes dramatically improve for certain bits. It’s great.

It’s also adult animation with a positive sentiment, which you don’t really see too often. It’s not cynical like almost all the other ones. It’s refreshing.

Give it a few honest tries and lmk what you think haha

May all your dreams and wishes come true <3