2 0 2 4 🎉

my year in review

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Time to reflect. This year was a good one for me!

Some things I accomplished this year:

  • Chased a dream of mine and started performing stand-up comedy in NYC

  • Produced my own comedy show with my homie Sage Sy (Pizza Party! Next show Jan 20)

  • Read my comics in front of live audiences, not only for my own show, but for another’s also!

  • Yvonne and I celebrated 4 years together <3

  • Started working out more frequently, beginning a self-health adventure

  • Travelled to Boston, Vancouver, Banff, Philippines, Hong Kong, and Shen Zhen

  • Took a hiatus from stand-up to write, film, and edit my own videos for my Youtube channel (6 long form videos)

  • I posted 30+ comics to my art instagram (@allmankindisstupid)

  • I started THIS VERY NEWSLETTER!

My resolutions:

  • Keep consistent with this newsletter, Youtube, working out, eating healthy, and posting to social medias

  • Go to the doctor and dentist more often (I hate check-ups)

  • Start my first longer story comic. Something with a plot and characters with depth

  • Go to more concerts with Yvonne <3

A deeper review

To get a bit more personal, this year was a really important year for me. I’m not exactly sure what triggered my epiphany but I’ve decided to change my relationship with “success.”

Since a child, I was obsessed with the idea of achieving my dreams. I weighed all my value and identity into becoming this awesome famous artist/entertainer that I felt that I was. I would go online and notice other people accomplishing the dream I thought I had wanted, being the person I thought I could be. To me that was “success.” This year, I realized that I was only chasing an image.

I took some time and gave myself a chance to reassess my dreams. Do I want to be a comedian? Do I want to be rich? Do I need to be anything? It started to feel silly, sacrificing time with my family and friends to actualize an identity I made up when I was a child. What the fuck did I even know about the world when I was a lil kid?

Despite this realization, I am still proud of myself for being a dreamer and for having the courage to try. I guess all I’m saying is that the dream has changed. Rather than wanting to be someone else, I just want to keep doing me. I want to nurture the relationships I have, learn new skills, and create the art I want to create.

The grass is greener where you water it.

PIZZA PARTY

Our 5th show is THIS MONTH! On January 20th! The lineup is so sick, I’m really excited to show you guys what we have cookin.

The show is also CHEAPER! We want as much people to come as possible so we made the show more accessible. And for you guys it’s EVEN MORE CHEAPERER. If you use this code, you’ll get a $5 discount:

pizzapartyhahayeah

Drawings I made on my phone using my thumbs on the Freeform app while waiting in traffic or on the toilet without internet

REX

This week I recommend going on X, the new Twitter. I know, I used to be a hater too. But I found myself back on the app and I’m reading jokes and poems and lookin at really touching art. But also I don’t recommend it because it’s been consuming a lot of my free time.

Here are some good ones:

Oh also, last week I recommended the song Ere by Juan Karlos and said that I was 4 handshakes away from him. On the 31st, I met the man at the club and shook his hand myself 😁

May all your dreams and wishes come true <3